the science of unemployment

I’ve been out of work for most of a year. Actually, most of a year and four months. Things are getting pretty thin.

I talked to my buddy Todd this weekend, hanging out at his new restaurant. Todd’s an old hand contractor, he’s dealt with all kinds of situations, and he knows a whole lot more about that end of the IT world than I do. He says to me, “These recruiters, they don’t really care what you can do, they care about the money. Find some short-term gigs on Dice, see if you can make a deal.” This was a new angle to me; I’d always fretted over my skill profile, and just hoped to watch my income naturally increase.

Then I remembered an article I’d read recently in FAST COMPANY about pricing, and how companies establish and manage prices. Apparently it’s a new idea to use the scientific method to determine what the market will bear.

So, today I went to Dice, picked out nine contract positions, gave them the old “Ordinarily, a developer like me would cost $x/hour, but you, my very special body shop, you get the low low price of $y/hour. Act now!” And I gave three of them the highest price, four a middle price, and two a lower price.

Imagine, finding useful advice in one of these schmancy business rags. We’ll see how it goes.

