a bad day redeemed

Today, I learned more about Linux time-keeping internals than I ever wanted to know. And under about the worst possible circumstances.

I had a job interview scheduled today at 2:00. I thought my PC would have automatically changed for daylight savings this weekend. I had seen it happen before. It did not this time.

I thought it was 1:00, and left for my interview. It was actually 2. I was partway there when I figured this out. I came back home and called them. They were charitable, and rescheduled the interview for next week.

I’m not sure how much this will count against me, but I’m fairly sure it will. It’s a position with the Chicago Bike Federation, their bike ambassador program. OK, not my usual thing, but I need a frickin’ job. And it does look like fun.

But yeah, I’d be representing the city, and yeah, punctuality would count. Punctuality here was not just one of those bullshit business-culture formalities, it was a demonstration of something important for the job. Or not, in my case. At the very least, it moves me down the “first-come-first-served” list. Upsetting.

I don’t know what messed up the daylight savings time processing on my machine. I do think I fixed it, though not without copious amounts of foul language. In the fall, if it fails again, I’ll be an hour ahead. So I got that goin’ for me.

This evening, coming home from the gym, I rounded a corner in the State and Grand subway station here in Chicago. A joyful little boy pointed at me and shouted, “You’re a choo-choo train!”

I’m a choo-choo train. Maybe life isn’t so bad.

Leave a Reply

