respectful disagreement of the moment: Charlton Heston

Great actor. Gun nut. I differ with Charlton Heston on a lot of points. But I learned something about him: he was involved in the civil rights movement of the ’60s.

And then I thought about some of his best movies, and the roles he played. Soylent Green, Planet of the Apes, even the Ten Commandments all played on issues of liberty and respect for the individual.

So I came to understand: Heston is about rights first, guns second. If I felt more strongly about the Second Amendment, I’d probably be concerned about those rights too. I may not agree entirely, but I can respect that.

Leave a Reply

