Favorite 19th-century polysyllabic insults

Why do so many of the great old insults have three syllables? I think I need to grow a big handlebar moustache to use these:

Of course the ever-popular Shakespearean Insult Server has some good ones. I like “Fustilarian!,” though I can’t find a definition anywhere. I think my favorite from that site is “Measle!” though it doesn’t have many syllables. I also like “Maggot-pie!” (well, I like the insult, not the pie), though I suppose it requires Shakespearean context to establish a literary tone.

There are some other fun ones, like “Carpetbagger!” and Rapscallion! If anyone has more, let me know.

Now, back to my fustilary pursuits…

Leave a Reply

