It doesn't mean I don't love you

It’s a favorite turn of phrase: It doesn’t mean I don’t love you. Usually applicable with some version of ‘no.’ Examples:

‘Sounds like a fun party, but I can’t make it that evening. Which doesn’t mean I don’t love you.’

‘No, I’m not continuing my health club membership here. But it doesn’t mean I don’t love you.’

‘I can’t help you overhaul your transmission Sunday, I have Bears tickets. Dude, it doesn’t mean I don’t love you.’

Always said with either ironic disaffection, or affectionate regret. But always a small snark of ambiguity between the two.

Leave a Reply

