the second surgery

Went pretty smoothly. They implanted my left generator (the pacemaker device.) I was completely out.

I was eating as normally as you can eat in a hospital later that day. No puking! Yay. I seem to have good range of motion–I’ve heard some people complain that their wires pull. I feel mine, but they don’t get in the way. I’m in a small amount of pain. They gave me vicodin. I’m back to Tylenol at this point.

I’m just taking it easy for now. Next we get the remaining staples yanked, and turn on the generator. Or, you know, pretend to turn it on.

4 comments

  1. John,

    I’m fascinated with this whole process you are experiencing and so grateful that you are sharing it with all of us. Don and I send you and your family our best. For the weepiness, try “Blazing Saddles.” No matter how depressed I am, I can’t stop laughing at that movie.

    Jeanne Plumb

  2. One big step for John, one giant leap for dystonia research. John you are one amazing man! Thank you for sharing your journey with us and may your daily successes continue to grow in numbers and frequency. Try the movie Airplane for laughs. You have Clearance Clarence, Roger that Roger, Over Over.

  3. HI! I am glad you are doing so well. It is an amazing ordeal and you are incredible. Maybe you should write a book. You have got plenty of material. Best Wishes,

  4. Both great choices on the flix John but i recommend Monty Python, Life of Brian, ” so help me me, so help me me”, The final song, “always look on the bright side of life”, has kept me smiling for years. Thanks for sharing, and helping us keep up.

    A very Happy Thanksgiving to you John, from ours to yours, and to the Hub as well..

Leave a Reply

